Maxlog producing M8900 again. (Ver. 9)

It seems now in mid 2016 that version 10 has surfaced.

 

Miracles will never cease!! After a long wait of 7 months the M8900 may once more be available. The early ones were great performers but were let down by software and board problems. Not a lot of space to dissipate the 40watts these things were putting out out of the box. Most twin finals we get are 22w PEP or so from the factory.

These new ones show a bigger heatsink and reportedly better TX and RX audio and improved AGC. All the things we want to hear after suffering through the last few batches of Anytone inspired radios. I must say the last 8900’s had some of the best receive of any radio on 11m so wonder how they have improved that. Did read about the noise from a mobile installation but did not notice anything amiss with any I tried.

The photos below show they are being made but we have yet to see a finished article or any specifications or software. Hopefully the horribly complex and messy programming has been cleaned up and we will have one band with all the frequency steps from 24.5 thru 30mhz. But I doubt it. Too much to wish for!!

More as it comes to hand…

Ready for the lids

Ready for the lids

8900 production1

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Maxlog producing M8900 again. (Ver. 9)

  1. Pete says:

    Any info on where to buy from and when?

  2. betocorvo says:

    The big news is that these photo radios were set to be sold here in the 3rd Division …. In other words, it’s likely that is not available the software, tempouco the range of frequencies below 25.6 MHz.

    Anyway, this information was of great value. 73’s

  3. Pete says:

    *shOrt URL of course

  4. betocorvo says:

    By way of information … The previous address was removed.
    Follow updated:

    http://3ad050.blogspot.com.br/2015/09/impressoes-aquario-rp-90-exclusivo.html

  5. Rod aka mechanic says:

    From what I gather the radio has a smaller frequency coverage, possible it does not go down to 12 meters…. Quite a few videos on You Tube and mainly from Brazil.

    • dd182003 says:

      It will include 12m

    • dd182003 says:

      Rod. Do you work for maxlog?

      • Rod aka mechanic says:

        Lol! No I do not but I am a big fan of the radio! I also have the AT-5555 and the AT-6666, both good rigs but the 8900 is a level above…. Since I am also a HAM, I can see the Maxlog as a full HF rig sometime down the road. I guess at heart I am a 10/11 meter operator and there lies my roots, kind of a weak spot!
        73 Rod aka mechanic

      • dd182003 says:

        The new magnum 1 is pretty neat. Nice receive. It also has a dsp option..

      • dd182003 says:

        Going to be tough to get a ham rig out of maxlog or any other chinese producer that can compare feature and price with radios from the big 3.
        Not saying it can’t or won’t be done but be difficult to catch up with them. I do see a need for small cheap easy to use 50w single band mobile or portable ssb radios covering say 80m or 40m or 20m only.
        I am waiting to see the reviews on the new yaesu ft891 100w mobile rig when it gets fcc approval and hits the shelves. Multiband 100w all band HF rig the size of a small CB radio.
        How do they do it?
        But until then I am hanging on to my 706mk2G.

  6. dd182003 says:

    5w without a decent antenna system just doesnt cut it. Never been so frustrated with a portable radio than I was with the ft817. Worked good on the beam….tough with the mobile…

  7. Rod aka mechanic says:

    I have the Icom IC-703, a 10 watt transceiver and does well on all it covers. You are absolutely correct the right antenna will do the work! I just bought the new Icom IC-7300 and it is a departure from ‘normal’ transceivers.
    I made a video comparing the Maxlog M-8900 with the Icom IC-7300 and both were receiving on par on the same frequency of 25 mHz. I monitor WWV time standard and they received much the same. I will be posting this to my You Tube page soon and the URL here.

Leave a Reply

